Premchand Dandiya Endowment Trust

Professor Prem Chand Dandiya is a guiding force to his former students, research colleagues and associates. In 1987 his former students, colleagues and associates met at Bangalore to honor him on his election as the President of Indian Pharmacological society and also to felicitate him on his 60th birthday. An idea of forming an Endowment Trust in his name was felt and the idea became a reality within a short span of time. It is rare in modern context of materialistic world that the students form such a trust to honor the values of a teacher. The spontaneity with which the trust has come into being and grown reflects the love, affection and care Professor Dandiya has for his former students and associates. The trust was registered as a charitable trust under the income tax act on 2nd November 1991 at Chandigarh. A Board of Trustees was appointed with Professor J.S. Bapna as its Chairman and Professor S.K. Kulkarni as secretary, respectively. Dr. N.K. Gurbani was subsequently appointed as Jt. Secretary to handle various activities of the trust.

Members of the trust

Professor J. S. Bapna, Chairman

Professor S. K. Kulkarni, Secretary

Professor K. K. Sharma

Dr Nirmal Gurbani Mr Praful Sheth, Member

Dr Jyotsna Bhargava

Dr Anil K. Misra

Dr Rohit Dandiya, Trustee

Dr P. G. Shrotriya

Dr Z. V. Khan Zafar


Past Orations of PC Dandiya Trust

The trust aspires to propagate the scientific fervor of the man by organizing orations, conferences and scientific activities by inviting eminent men of Science who have made significant contributions to the development and growth of pharmacology and pharmaceutical sciences.

Symposia Organized

1997 – Update on Affective Disorders, Jaipur

1998 – International Symposium on New Drug Development, New Delhi

1999 – International Symposium on Prudent Use of Antibiotics, Jaipur

2000 – CME on New Drug Development in Neuropsychiatric Disorders, New Delhi

2008 – National Symposium on Obesity, Jaipur

Best Publication Prizes in Pharmacy and Pharmacology

In 1997-98 the trust initiated prizes of Rs. 20,000/- each for the best research publications in pharmacy and pharmacology, respectively for young scientists who are actively involved in research, scientific writing and textbook publication in pharmacology and pharmaceutical sciences.